The Horror Movie Book Tag! 

Hey dearest readers! Did you miss me? I have come back from the dead to blog again! I apologise for all the posts I’ve been ignoring and all the tags I’ve missed out on, I’ve had a lot going on and am still in the middle of taking my AS Level exams😭 but I’m desperately trying to save time for doing tags since reading is impossible now. Let’s hope I form a more consistent posting system because I’ve been absent for too long! Now onto this super fun tag I did! 
I want to thank the wonderful Laura @thebookcorps for tagging me! Everyone go check out her blog posts, they’re amazing! 

Let’s start with the rules (mwah ha ha):

  • Please credit and link Princess@Royal Reader (or just Royal Reader), as the creator of this tag, and add the rules.
  • You can use the graphics provided in your post, or you’re welcome to make your own!
  • Thank the person(s) who tagged you and let others know of their fabulous blogs.
  • Tag as many people as you want, be it 1 or 20, it’s entirely up to you!

The Zombie Apocalypse:


A book you would save when civilisation ends:

Can I just cheat on this one question and say that I’d save my phone that would have every single book I’ve read? No? Ugh fine. But this is one hard question. I don’t just want to read one book for the rest of my life if there’s any left after the apocalypse. 

I’ll go with A Court of Mist and Fury because I still haven’t reread it enough times to say goodbye yet. It’s simply too soon and I love it too much now!
The Vampire:


A book you would stake through the heart (in whatever sense):


The Thousandth Floor. It seemed so interesting from the synopsis on Goodreads and I was super excited to read it that I even got the physical copy of the book to read from but it was so disappointing! It was so unsatisfying, I felt like it didn’t have any great ideas. It didn’t inspire me in any way. The characters were dull and I just hated how the plot progressed and the ideas it might give to readers. You can find my review for it here
The Haunted House:


A book that still haunts you:

*Crackling thunder and lightning*


Empire of Storms! I swear, after reading it I was having frequent nightmares featuring the main character who I adore so much dying again and again in every single dream scenario! After reading it, I was traumatised by how intensely painful it was! I couldn’t even handle reviewing it at the time because I’m still really really emotional about what happened (which I try not to think about anymore)! Haunting is a perfect word for what SJM did to me!! 
The Psychological Thriller:


A book with a twist that you did not see coming:

Inferno. I usually love predicting events that happen in books but Dan Brown books always take me by surprise. I never even see any of it coming until I’m reading it with wide eyes and a rapidly increasing heart rate. That’s the reason I love his books so much, they’re so gripping and surprising. 
The Creepy Doll:


A book that seems innocent but isn’t:

The Love That Split The World. I read this book last year with a friend and I expected it to be a simple easy read that just talked about teenagers and their love lives like any typical contemporary but it had so much more depth to it. The characters all ended up being diverse and different and didn’t lack any personality. The book included a lot of inspiring concepts and beautiful imagery with spectacular mini stories that can have so many different interpretations from one reader to another. It had time travel and different worlds which I definitely didn’t expect either! Overall, a surprisingly heart-warming read that had my head spinning with a bajillion ideas! 
The Monster:


A book that you could barely tackle/defeat (in whatever sense):

Deceived. I really found parts of this book disturbing and violent and at times just totally disgusting! It was a great read but some of the events were just making me shiver and I had to distract myself while reading it to stop freaking out. Finishing it felt like an accomplishment because I don’t usually read from the genre of horror. 
The Comedy-Horror:


A book with mixed genres that worked (or didn’t):

Blood of Eden trilogy. It was mostly about a dystopian world but it also centred around vampires. I have never come across that combination before and I found it unusual. The books were good but not amazing but that’s not because of the genres it had I just didn’t like how the events progressed towards the end but that’s me when it comes to most dystopias. 
The (Cliched) Teen Horror:


A book you found seriously cliched/ stereotypical:

Me Before You. I know that a lot of people loved it and it got very hyped but I just found nothing new and original in it. There wasn’t anything unexpected, the characters weren’t unique at all. It felt like a book that didn’t involve anything special. It was adorable and all but come on! I’ve seen and read many similar things before!
The Demonic Possession:


 A book so gripping you needed an exorcist to escape it:

The Infernal Devices as a whole series. It was so emotional and spectacular and filled with TOO MANY FEELS, I felt like I was going to burst open and just become a mess of tears and saliva. I was so shaken by its ending that I thought that I might quit reading because nothing was worth that much pain! (I know I can be seriously overly dramatic but in my defence you guys would understand if you read it too.) But hey, I moved on and continued reading so yaaaay! 
The Science Fiction:


A precious book you would permanently give to the aliens for the good of mankind:

The Harry Potter series. I’m sorry! I think I’d lose most of my soul if I gave my precious Harry Potter books to anyone but I’m pretty sure that once those aliens read it. No matter how heartless and cruel they were, they’d change their mind about humanity and instead fall in love with us as a kind. In fact, they might just abandon their own beliefs and start worshipping J.K. Rowling. 😆 Thus saving Earth once more. 

I tag

Casey@adoptabookaus
Joana@bookneeders
icebreaker694
Lu@lureads
Fangirl Reality
And anyone else who’s interested in doing this tag 😉

Until next time! 

🤓Maya🤓

19 thoughts on “The Horror Movie Book Tag! 

  1. Thank you for tagging me! 😀
    Wow! Now I really wanna read The Love That Split The World! I thought it would be a cute contemporary that that seems pretty interesting!
    I really need to read Clockwork Angel… Probably after summer time! First I need to tackle a bunch of contemporary books on my shelf 😛 But I keep hearing great things about it and I like TMI but not as much as a lot of people… I mainly love the world and I am hoping that one is a bit less teenager-y…
    Great answers and once again, thank you for the tag! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome 😊
      Yeah you really should, totally unexpected! 😱You MUST! One of the best series ever! Haha yeah, the endless struggle of reading all the new books on your shelves but still buying new books! Yeah the Infernal Devices is definitely more mature and serious but with the same level of awesomeness!
      Don’t mention it 😉! Can’t wait to see your answers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

