This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Tag!

Hello lovelies. I hope you’re all enjoying your time blogging. I want to mention that I’m doing my best to post on a weekly basis and I’m still trying to manage my time so I apologize for the delays for any tags or posts.

I want to thank icebreaker694 for tagging me in another great post and for always always reaching the same level of excitement I do when we’re fangirling. 3www

The Rules:

  • Credit the bada Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

What is your favourite genre?

  • Fantasy
  • Science Fiction
  •  Young Adult Contemporary

Who is your favourite author from that genre?

J.K. Rowling for Fantasy

Pierce Brown for Science Fiction

Benjamin Alire Saenz for YA Contemporary

What is it about that genre that keeps pulling you back?

I think I read fantasy the most, is because I just love learning about new worlds and new endless possibilities! It’s the author’s chance to just unleash his/her wildest imaginations. I always have this thrill at the beginning of a fantasy novel where everyone and everything is being introduced and there are maps and a lot of cool information that supports the world being created and it fills me with inexplicable glee 😁!

Science fiction is a genre I read less from but still do enjoy endlessly and I think that’s because I am a true geek 🤓! I simply adore science and math so adding those two to fiction and making a plot out of it astounds me! I never fail to be amazed by how cool it’d be if I could achieve something the characters achieved if I studied and worked hard enough.

YA Contemporary is my soothing genre. I sometimes need to read about sweet stories that shouldn’t involve saving the world with normal teenage characters. They also have their share of feels and they make me feel so warm and fuzzy on the inside.

What is the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

For fantasy:

For Science Ficiton:

the_martian_2014

For YA Contemporary:

4374400

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading from that genre, what book would you choose and why? 

For fantasy it’ll be the same as the first book series that got me into reading which is Harry Potter.

For science fiction I’d say Red Rising by Pierce Brown

For YA contemporary I’ll choose Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Why do you read?

I read because it’s one of the most entertaining things I’ve ever encountered. I read because it’s really the best way to escape this shitty world of ours and enter countless of others where the world is eventually saved by the good guys. I just take comfort in reading about amazing kick ass characters.

I came across this post a few days ago and I’m not sure where I found it from but it sums up why I read pretty accurately.

I Tag:

Jess

Joana

Laura

Vikki

Lu

Emily

Ashley

Demi

Zoe

And of course anyone else who wants to do this tag!



Can you relate to my choices and reasons? What else would’ve you chosen. Let me know in the comments section.

Happy Reading!

♥Maya♥

22 thoughts on “This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Tag!

      1. I’ll try and read it soon, maybe it will get me into the genre! An author reached out to me about their book which is Sci-Fi and that you may like, its called ‘The Enemy Within’ by Scott Burn. It super interesting and if you’d like to read more sci-fi it could be the book for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. We fangirls must stick together! Lol 😄 Thanks for that great mention, you’re amazing too! I enjoyed reading your answers! I love YA and fantasy too, I’m also trying to read more books in the sci-fi genre. (I really loved The Martian too!) Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course we should 😁It’s just the truth! Yeah, I really should expand my science fiction knowledge 😬 Yes me too! I just found Mark Watney so inspiring! I wish I could get to go to Mars and colonise the planet and somehow survive by planting potatoes and making my own water! 😅
      Thanks it was fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here! At least I know what pods, hyperspace, and space ships are (but I need to expand some knowledge too 😬). And it would be awesome to survive as Watney did 😄, but I highly doubt my own survival skills (I won’t last on Mars).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! Of course my own survival skills are rather limited but with proper training and inspiration, I’ll survive Mars.
        Just think of all the time I could spend alone just reading without anyone disturbing me on Mars. It’d be a dream come true 😅

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah new releases will be a problem unless there’s super powerful wifi that has a range as long as the distance between Mars and Earth. Which I doubt cuz the router usually can’t even reach my own bedroom at times 😅
        Yeah! That’s the spirit! We shall colonise Mars and fill it with fangirls so I don’t have to deal with regular humans on a daily basis 😜

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Someone needs to invent faster wifi for this… 😜
        And yes! A city full of fans! We could have the people that our fandoms are based on living there too, and there would be enough books, TV shows, and video games for lifetime!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Totally!
        Ultramegasuperdupergasp! I have a marvellous idea! Since we colonised Mars we can form the regions on the entire planet according to different fandoms. And each place has everything themed according to that fandom. And then there’s the capital which is multifandom and that’s where people from all over Mars come and fangirl together or get introduced to new fandoms or have discussions etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yes!!!! That’s such and ultramegasuoeridea!!! What should be our capital? Hehe. And different countries are blazed n the type of fandom, like a book fandom then there are regions where people like TID, HP, ACOTAR. This needs to be real!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. You mean it’s name? Hmm. I don’t know it’ll come to me when the time is right 😅
        Yesss! Agh such a wonderful idea we made up! Let’s propose it to NASA and the rest of the world! I’m sure they’ll all be for it after some consideration.
        I will gladly rule Mars in that case 😏

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Really liked your answers!
    I mostly love YA fantasy and YA contemporary books and for the exact same reason as you! I still need to read HP tho… I read the first two in PT and I can’t really say I liked the translation… So I will buy them in english and give it a try 😀 Hopefully I will love them as much as I love the movies!
    Thank you for the tag! 😀 I will try to do it as soon as I can!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh you totally should! I’m pretty sure you’ll get to love them especially in the third book! If you love the movies then there’s no question about the books that are 103829327 times much better😅 I hope you buy them soon!
      Anytime, I’m super curious about your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

