The Hammer of Thor(Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)-Book Review

Hello to all my bloggers! Hope your Mondays weren’t too miserable. I have finally written my review for this book and Maya is freeee to start another book now! Enjoy 😉

27904311.jpgAuthor: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Publication Date: October 4th 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Adventure

Pages: 471 pages

My Rating: 8/10

Synopsis:

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

Review:

“Just like the good old days: marching together into the unknown, searching for missing magical weapons and risking painful death. I’d missed my buddies!”

(Spoiler Free)

After reading and loving the Sword of Summer I was really glad to finally read the second book. I can add this book to the list of books that I enjoyed reading and wouldn’t mind reading again but it wasn’t that unique and amazing. I don’t feel torn between adding it to my favourites or not, and I’m not hung over all the characters. Don’t get me wrong I still want to read anything Rick writes but I couldn’t see much that I haven’t already read before. Certainly nothing on the emotional level of Heroes of Olympus.

I’ve figured out the ultimate recipe for Rick’s books:

  • A bunch of side quests needed to fulfil the main quest
  • A deadline before the whole world ends in case of failing that main quest
  • Sarcastic characters who complain about everything but are still heroic to save the day
  • Humorous surreal mythological creatures too lazy to be of any use

Yep, that sums up The Hammer of Thor.

The main conflict is that Thor has lost his hammer and if the baddies heard that Thor’s greatest weapon has been stolen then they can launch an attack against Asgard and initiate Ragnarok which basically means the total destruction of the world. It’s up to the Nine Worlds’ greatest heroes to find the Hammer, luckily, or rather unluckily, Loki-the trickster god- has a way to retrieve the hammer. He wants to exchange the hammer for his daughter, Samirah, who will be wed to the leader of the Giants. According to Norse wedding traditions the bride must also present a bride price which Magnus and his friend need to find. Sam has no intention of marrying a Giant so they must find a way to get the hammer and stop the wedding whilst figuring out what Loki has in store for them.

This book had an immense amount of diverse characters and I thought that was great, especially for the younger readers who might learn more about the different people that exist. It introduces topics like gender and parent abuse and how people deal with all those problems. The main character is a homeless guy, his friend is deaf and hated by his parents, his other friend is a muslim Valkyrie. That definitely makes an interesting unique team!

There was always something happening but I still felt like the book was way too long. There were too many side quests that seemed important but just frustrated me, I felt like the characters were always doing so much for so little in return!

(!SPOILER ALERT!)

Magnus was sarcastic and sassy as banana and I just can’t help loving that. He’s still loyal above everything else to his friends, he’s prepared to do anything for them and he’s always there for them. I didn’t feel like Magnus played an important role in this plot. It was more cantered around Loki’s children. I also love how Magnus still knows nothing of sword fighting.

I loved Hearthstone even more in this book than the first one! I got to read about how his brother exactly died and how bad the situation for him was at home. My enormous heart broke when I read of how horrible that sorry excuse for a dad treated him! He forced Hearth to actually pay for a crime he did not commit! What hurts even more is the fact that Hearth believed himself to be a terrible person and that he got so used to his father’s horrible ways he wouldn’t even find it wrong! My poor poor dear child!

Blitz felt like a secondary and minor character in this book to me, he didn’t really do anything besides offer useful fashion tips and explain some Norse info to his friends. I just appreciate his role in being Hearth’s friend and god do I adore their bromance!

 Sam is my role model right now! She somehow manages to keep up with all her AP classes and tutoring along with saving the world and reaping souls in her spare time! I desperately need to ask her for tips on time management! I loved reading about how she believed in her religion as well as the Norse world. The drama between her and Amir was surprising, I didn’t really believe they loved each other, but right now I find it cute especially after Amir freaked out over all that information.  

The Hammer of Thor had a new addition to the dream team which saved the book from a lower rating. Alex Fierro is a gender fluid child whose dad is Loki. I can say I loved him/her lot in this book and how incredibly cool she/he was at everything. Alex managed to embrace her parentage as well as not let it control or taint him/her and I think that’s a really hard thing to accomplish. I admire the way everyone seemed to shun her/him for being unmanly while Alex corrected everyone to use the right pronoun. I loved reading about Alex and I can’t wait to read more.    

One thing that really annoys me about some books in general is that part where nobody knows who the real enemy is and which side everyone is on. Loki frustrated me so much in this book because I thought he couldn’t be too bad of a person but he kept doing evil things and I didn’t know which side he was on and I hate that! Apparently Loki is only on his side and he’s a bananahole that was perfectly fine sacrificing his own children! He can burn in Hellheim right now for all I care!

“It’s a good thing Jack was no longer in my hands, because I would’ve pulled a full-on Kylo Ren temper tantrum.”

I feel like Rick’s books have a little too much silliness in them for me to take seriously. There’s a limit to humour and joking that cannot be passed because afterwards everything becomes more stupid than I can handle. Like Jack, the talking sword was hilarious and funny, I liked him as a character but only he made it funny everyone else was too much. Also, the linkages between Norse mythology and modern world was overused, with gods using selfies and selfie sticks and Netflix and PowerPoint, I lost it! Don’t even get me started about all the pop songs and Silena Gomez-it was cringe worthy! I barely appreciate those things in real life considering the fact that I’m a grandma living in a teenager’s body so I loathed that!

The ending got me so excited for the next book with Annabeth and PERSASSSSY AND I CANNOT WAIT! It seems like there’s going to be a LOT of things happening and it’s going to be on a ship! Yay!

I hope you guys found my review to your liking. Did you read this book, if you did, let’s discuss it together!

Happy Reading!

Maya

11 thoughts on “The Hammer of Thor(Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)-Book Review

      1. I need to start book 2, and I’m hoping over Chirstmas I can do LOADS of reading, so hopefully I’ll get onto reading those really soon!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

