Six of Crows-Book Review

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Publication Date: September 29th 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic

Pages: 465

My Rating: 10/10

Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Review:

“The water hears and understands. The ice does not forgive.”

HOLY BANANAS! What I just read was stupefying! I am unable to even express what I felt for Six of Crows. It was unexpectedly wonderfully amazing! I just picked up the book because it sounded nice but I didn’t expect it to be anything I’d obsess over and adore! I don’t think I was able to find a single flaw in the book. The characters were just all so damn believable and loveable, I can’t even pick a favourite! The plot was completely unpredictable and stunning! The world building was phenomenal and compelling, I was swept into all the action from the beginning!

 “The heart is an arrow. It demands aim to land true.”

The chapters consisted of many different POVs with each of them slowly introducing the characters’ troubling pasts whilst showing the present plot. The blend of past and present together made this book deliciously dark with lots of twists and turns in the plot. The past stories gave the characters their proper backgrounds which made their personalities and actions apparent. There was romance between the characters and I have so many ships now but the romance never got in the way of the main plot which I appreciated.

“Brick by brick, I will destroy you.”

I think this is the only book I’ve ever read that was totally centred on a heist. It honestly took every single convincing technique I had to not ditch the review and start the sequel immediately after finishing this book! Leigh Bardugo took me by surprise with this precious book and I cherished every part of it! Just thinking about any of those 6 wonderful characters, a.k.a. my darling babies, fills me with pure joy! If you’re a person with actual common sense, you would find a way to get this book and start reading ASAP! It’s great for book hangovers and slumps too!

(! SPOILER ALERT!)

There was this great wonderful map of the Ice Court that I thought made every single thing the characters have accomplished seem more real but more impossible too! I love getting to see where the characters went especially with that map! I saw all the action happening with more details! I just love love love when books have maps for me to visualize everything more clearly!

 “A gambler, a convict, a wayward son, a lost Grisha, a Suli girl who had become a killer, a boy from the Barrel who had become something worse.”

Kaz Brekker is my official most favourite criminal in existence! I adore him and he’s my little scowling clever serious-faced marshmallow! Kaz, unlike most protagonists, is not your typical good self-righteous noble hero whose existence revolves around saving others. He’s a devious cripple who just wants to take his revenge on all those who’ve wronged him and he manages to outsmart every obstacle that stands in his way and he does it with his cute crow cane and gloves, which I’d love to see in real life!

“There was no part of him that was not broken, that had not healed wrong, and there was nimg_5180o part of him that was not stronger for having been broken. The cane became a part of the myth he built. No one knew who he was. No one knew where he came from. He’d become Kaz Brekker, cripple and confidence man, bastard of the Barrel.”

Reading about his tragic childhood was everything! It took most of the book to get to the deep emotional parts of his life that Kaz hides from everyone else but it was worth it. Everything he does from wearing gloves to loathing Pecca starts to make perfect sense. It’s not always that I get to learn that much about a character to that depth so now I’m irrevocably attached to Kaz and his diabolical plans.

“It’s not natural for women to fight.”
“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet there you stand.”

Inej and Nina were both strong badass females who could more than deal with the boys and they didn’t seem over exaggerated to me. They were cool but had flaws and imperfections making them more realistic and relatable and closer to the limits of reality.

“Besides, she was the Wraith – the only law that applied to her was gravity, and some days she defied that, too.”

Inej was a terrified helpless girl who was stolen from her family and taken into slavery. She was forced to work in a pleasure house until she was rescued by Kaz who gave her the chance to escape that horrible life and learn how to protect herself. Inej found a purpose to fight and gained her reputation as the Wraith. I found that so inspiring because Inej wanted to learn how to fight and defend herself and she did, that simple! Inej got her claws and knives and managed to scare everyone but still remained a decent human being! I love her calming technique of naming her knives and stroking them gently. At the end, Inej didn’t end up in a really great place but I’m not even worried since KAZ will be rescuing ‘his girl’ *SQUEEELS*! My fangirl heart melted when Kaz said that!

Nina was also female protagonist goals! She’s a Grisha who has complete faith in her country and in the rebuilding of Ravka, she’s been training hard in every way she can, mastering her powers and learning languages, in the hope of helping her people. She’s brave, passionate, and has a sense of humour! I really love how she savours and worships all food! I don’t really understand the limits of her power as a Heartrender properly though. Although she too was left in a compromising position, after consuming the Jurda parem, but again I’m not too worried because Nina is an important character and she can’t die.

“No mourners. No funerals.”

Jesper provided most of the comic relief to this dark story and I respect his sense of humour plus he’s gay! What more could one ask of a great character? He’s in love with his precious revolvers, is addicted to gambling, and turns out to be a Fabrikator but he doesn’t seem to be proud of that title. I wonder what he’ll do about his powers.

“The life you live, the hate you feelit’s poison. I can drink it no longer.”

I just imagine the six of them going on a fairly dangerous trip with poor Matthias being the oldest one and having to be level-headed. He has to be the responsible one who has to be self-righteous and brave. Matthias was extremely annoying for the first 30% of the book, his thoughts irked me. I think he was my least favourite of the six actually. He just seemed brainwashed by the Fjerdans and thought that everything that wasn’t done the Fjerdan way was a crime! I was always on Nina’s side of their arguments. But then I realized that his entire family was killed by Grisha and so he embraced his training completely and became the stoic, supposed-emotionless soldier he is. Matthias begins to make decent decisions with saving Nina and I start to hesitantly like and respect Matthias.

Wylan’s my cute little sushi roll! He didn’t seem like a very interesting character at first, there weren’t even any chapters from his POV but by the end, Wylan has gained so much depth I never knew he had. Wylan turned out to be useful and adorable, he even plays the piano (I’m kidding! I know it’s the flute)! I couldn’t have predicted how his father felt towards Wylan, never! Yet again a parent ends up on my to-kill list! I’m so glad Kaz is an accepting person and doesn’t mind the fact that Wylan can’t read, he’s still a smart valuable person!

 “I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.”

I’m so pleased that their team was made of an even number of people so nobody ends up being the odd-wheel with no one for me to ship them with! I love how all my ships were on a ship at some point in the book! I totally completely and utterly ship Kanej, they better end up together! Inej brings out the best in Kaz and I think that they’re very suited for each other, no matter what everyone else thinks. I didn’t like Matthias and Nina at first, there was too much angst and drama for me to handle with the whole hate/love but once they sort through all that mess of emotions I’m OK with them being together. Now as for Jesper and Wylan, I LOOOOVE them together, the playful teasing, the low-key flirting, I love it all! I just imagined so many cute scenarios of them together and I’m obsessed. They better live and fall in love or else…

Overall, Six of Crows was a very fun read with spectacular characters and enticing plots. I’m going to try to read Leigh’s Grisha trilogy soon, because I really love her writing style and plot! But for now I can finally read Crooked Kingdom without my conscious bugging me!

Hope you guys were impressed by my review. Let me know what you guys think, don’t be shy to comment anything that pops into your mind!

Happy reading!

♥Maya♥

22 thoughts on “Six of Crows-Book Review

      1. I heard that Leigh will be writing more of the Grisha world so we might hear of them in passing! Which literally saved my life! Yeah same actually! I’d love to join them at the Crow Club and scheme but I don’t think I have what it takes because I’d be too busy admiring KAZ!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

