Book Review-Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

18006496.jpgAuthor: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: September 1st 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 648

My Rating: 10/10

Synopsis:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Review:

“Ten years of shadows, but no longer. Light up the darkness, Majesty.”

Yet again I finish a SJM book grinning from ear to ear! Queen of Shadows didn’t just meet my high expectations, it rose above them! I worshipped every single pages of this long book and enjoyed every marvellous character. I had to endure two sleepless nights to finish this book because I just couldn’t bear to part with my babies. I was always captivated and couldn’t turn the pages any faster because of the characters being constantly in danger.

I love how this was the fourth volume in the series but we still get introduced to new characters that will play significant roles. The story immediately launches into the gory bloody plot of Queen of Shadows after the hopeful ending of Heir of Fire. I’m also really proud of all the pairings in the book. Thankfully everyone has found someone or will soon find someone (Yay to my OTPs!)

In Queen of Shadows we got to read from different POVs for the same situation. I found reading everyone’s thoughts about the same thing enlightening and I got to see the bigger picture.

(! SPOILER ALERT! )

Just seeing the name ‘Aelin’ written in place of ‘Celaena’ made me emotional! The queen of Terrasen is ready to have her revenge from all those who’ve wronged her in the last 10 years, and she’s going to do it with style! Aelin never fails to surprise me at every turn, she continues to give me reasons to love her more! She manages to outsmart and outwit all the enemies standing in her way. She always has a plan and is always one step ahead of everyone else! After she’s embraced her true heritage and made peace with her past, the lethal assassin and powerful queen made an absolutely terrifying formidable mixture together, which is what made everyone shiver in her presence (I can’t blame them)! No one could compare to how awesome she was in this book ever! Aelin’s almost always covered in blood and that just makes her even cooler. Elena was not exaggerating when she said that Aelin could rattle the stars.

What do I do?” “You light up the darkness.

I finally got to meet Arobynn in this book! I was revolted by what I saw, Arobynn was supposed to be Celaena’s father figure but instead he was a disgusting slimy perverted worthless rotten banana! I wanted him SO dead after seeing him, I don’t understand how Aelin let someone else kill him! Thank the gods he’s dead now but I will never forget what he planned to do to Aelin! Aelin handled him well though, she never let his stupid taunting distract her and she managed to trick him and get all his money.

You make me want to live, Rowan. Not survive; not exist. Live.

The book became ten times better when Rowan showed up! He added a lot of extra humour and sarcasm to the team and I loved that! I did find his stupid alpha male over protectiveness irksome and useless. To be frank, I didn’t see any love interest between Rowan and Aelin before, I was content seeing them as friends and nothing else. I was shocked by how Rowan felt and I felt like it was too sudden! But seeing them teasing and loving each other made me reconsider, especially after seeing how Rowan made Aelin want to live. So now Rowaelin is my OTP!

Manon’s character development was phenomenal! She’s questioning things, disobeying rules, and learning of the true monster her grandmother is! Manon reminds me of Little Red Riding Hood with her red cloak and grandmother but those are the only parallels, I would consider her grandmother to be the wolf of the story too. Manon makes hard decisions that end up being catastrophic but she regrets them (I’m just shocked she has emotions). I really enjoyed her unexpected relationship with Elide, it was friendship and understanding between them and it helped both of them.

One of my favourite scenes in the book was the legendary fight between Manon and Aelin! I was anticipating their meeting and when they did, it was as I hoped: bloody, intense and emotional! I was so glad that Aelin felt a ‘tug’ towards Manon and decided to save her because then onwards I knew they’d be allies! I love Manon now and understand the purpose of her existence especially after she played a part in saving my precious Dorian.

My poor precious Dorian went through so much pain and anguish in those few sentences he got in this book and every time I read about how Dorian was suffering and how he couldn’t even remember any names, made my heart shrivel up and die! I truly believed he was beyond redemption for most of the book. The power and strength he displayed at the end of the book was amazing! He managed to break free from the Valg prince when he thought that the King killed Chaol and then I was thinking: Yes! Bromance rules! The collar was Dorian’s turning point. I ship Dorian with Manon so much right now! I can’t wait to see how their relationship evolves! For now: LONG LIVE KING DORIAN!!!

“’To a new world’, the Queen of Terrasen said. The King of Adarlan lifted his glass, such endless shadows dancing in his eyes, but-there. A glimmer of life.’To freedom.’

Again I disliked Chaol at the beginning of the book but by the end I returned to loving him. He infuriated me with the way he blamed Aelin for everything and how he called her a monster when all she did was fight the monsters. He would probably blame Aelin if he spilled water on himself! That’s how irksome he was! But he displayed true courage to save his King and nearly got himself killed in the process. Now he’s back to being my precious baby and I really hope things work out with him and Nesryn.

I absolutely loved the bromance in this book!!! The bromance between Aelin and Aedion, Manon and Asterin, and Chaol and Dorian gave me life! Each of these powerful pure unbreakable friendships was explored and tested in this book and I am so proud of each and every one of them!

They’d been forged of the same ore, two sides of the same golden, scarred coin.

I will forever be grateful to Sarah for creating so many strong independent iron-willed females, we definitely need more of those in the world! Kaltain for example: she blew my mind with how strong minded she was! She freaking managed to destroy the Valg prince possessing her bit by bit all by herself! She decided to burn all those bastards who did unspeakable things to her! I never thought she would be so strong! Lysandra was such a wonderful surprise too! Who would’ve believed she would turn from blushing beautiful courtesan to a fierce bloodthirsty shape-shifter? Also Nesryn was a great addition to the team, yet another badass independent female who saved countless of innocent lives and killed Valg princes! Or Elide who never pitied her miserable life and continued working to survive the dire conditions! All these wonderful females deserve my applause!

Let’s go rattle the stars.

Parts I cried in:

  • The reunion between Aelin and Aedion
  • The scene where Aelin was talking to Sam at Sam’s grave
  • The scene where Aelin was playing the pianoforte
  • The part where Asterin tells Manon her story
  • When Dorian realizes that Chaol is dead

The plot takes a spectacular turn when the dark truth of what Gavin and Elena did was revealed. Things are getting darker and darker the more we learn of the Valg and I’m terrified of the upcoming war! All the players in the unfinished game are here but will they succeed where their ancestors failed? Will they defeat Erawan and his immense army of wicked creatures?

Overall Queen of Shadows was wonderful and glorious. I’m definitely sure everyone is hooked to the series by now! How did a story about an assassin trying to earn her freedom turn into such a dark frightening story with the fate of the world in the assassin’s hands? Now onto the fifth book Empire of Storms finally!

Hope you guys loved my review. Let me know what you guys thought in the comments. Come on, don’t be shy.

Until next time my dear readers.

♥Maya♥

18 thoughts on “Book Review-Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

      1. I know!!! I see these everywhere! And I know from so many raving reviews that once I read them I will probably be soo obsessed with them everyone will be maiming for me to blog about something else!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But I don’t own the books yet 😦 oh well, just another thing I’ll have to save up for!!!! 😫😫😬 My TBR if like 10000 books long now

        Liked by 1 person

      3. True in your case, but owning books is more intimate. I sadly don’t have any libraries where I live that have English books. 😣 However I still have a couple of bookstores here thankfully so it’s not too bad I guess 😬

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I would prefer to won the book, but what I might do is read the first one from the library, to see if I like it, then save up for ALL of them! How come you don’t have libraries with English books? Thank the Lord for the book stores then!!!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That’s smart I supposed 😁 I live in a weird place where English books aren’t that popular and are expensive if I find any… Sadly! Yep there’s a couple of bookstores here and there that thankfully have an ok amount of English books 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

