Book Review-Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: August 7th 2012

Pages: 404

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 9/10

Synopsis:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Review:

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

In honour of the fifth book (Empire of Storms) being released this month I’ll be rereading and writing a review for all the previous book of the series (YAY!). I’ll try my best to write my thoughts about the books from the first time I read them.

I found Throne of Glass absolutely wonderful from the very first line. My attention was unwavering throughout the whole book and I couldn’t stop myself from staying up all night to finish it! The characters were all intriguing and unique to say the least. I already feel prepared to defend any of them to anyone who dares hurt them. Sarah has this way of playing with words to the point that no one could read without being instantly hooked and mesmerized! I am willing to read anything that woman writes. In addition to that, the names she chooses for anything in her books are extremely absurd and unique. I always have to guess how something is pronounced and follow my gut, but sadly my gut is almost always wrong! The names kill me and I bet that I sound like a crazed lunatic wondering how anything is said, nevertheless I still try! What I liked about this book was that romance wasn’t the main thing and the plot didn’t centre on it. It had enough adorable romance without it getting too irritating.

I have heard of some people who read this book, hated it, and didn’t continue the series but after a while gave it a second chance and continued to the second book and further, then it became one of the best things they’ve ever read! So I’m begging anyone who read the first book then stopped, to give it another try because I promise you it gets IMMENSELY better afterwards.

(SPOILER ALERT)

I love Celaena (I pronounce it as “Selena”) so deeply already!!! She puts up a show of swagger and self-confidence to hide the fact that she’s scared, alone and suffering on the inside. Of course I’d get attached to a person who will cause me a lot of emotional pain. She’s a beautiful mixture of contradictions: she’s a tough notorious assassin with ice in her heart but she’s also intelligent, charming, and empathetic! Who said one cannot love sharp blades and fancy dresses simultaneously?

“I like music,” she said slowly, “because when I hear it, I . . . I lose myself within myself, if that makes any sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play. I’m not . . . for once, I’m not destroying, I’m creating.”

What a beautiful soul she must have to say such wonderful things! She has the capacity to create and love as much as she destroys and hates. I admire her strength, not just her physical strength-which is quite impressive, but also her inner strength. Most people would’ve been broken beyond repair after Endovier. If that doesn’t show how powerful she is, I don’t know what would! She has just the right amount of arrogance that it doesn’t seem rude and just utterly hilarious! She keeps calling herself spectacular and I can’t help but grin when she does.

I still know 0% about her past and it annoys me so much! I hate being left in the dark like this, who the banana is Sam, what happened to him, what happened with her parents, and how did she end up being an assassin? I guess I’ll have to read on and find out.

Dorian is your typical ‘Prince Charming’ and he looks the part too. He has a generous heart and a wonderful personality that anybody would be drawn to.  He somehow has the capacity to be kind although I’m puzzled as to where he gets that from, having a tyrant for a father and a cold-hearted mother. I love the fact that he prefers the company of books and dogs over that of blades and politicians. Although it annoyed me how quickly he fell in love with Celaena and how he was prepared to ‘rip the world apart’ for her and other nonsense like that. I’m glad Celaena ended it with him before it became unbearable.

Chaol (I used to call him Chowl but apparently it’s Kay-all) was hard to like at first. He was aloof and cold towards Celaena, but who could blame him after all she was an assassin. I still know close to nothing about Chaol. But as he allows himself to be friends with Celaena I start to like him. I enjoy reading about Chaol and Celaena bickering and insulting each other, I might even go so far to say that I ship them together! Especially after the last duel with Cain when he knelt down and ordered her to keep fighting! I think I started loving him at that point. I’m dying to know more about him and what he might do next.

This book was great but there were a couple of things that irked me like the Tests. They weren’t creative and suitable for the competition, I mean archery? Seriously? You’d think the king would bother actually testing the competitors’ limits and creating dangerous complicated games but alas the king is lazy! Also the king was very stupid thinking of hosting such competitions and inviting all those criminals into his castle, he was risking the safety of everyone in the castle. You don’t expect assassins and thieves to be sane and well-behaved even with the presence of guards.

Overall, this book was marvellous and wonderful and it’ll probably take forever for me to forget about such a memorable adventure. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Now onto the second book!

Hope you guys found my review entertaining and relatable, I would love to discuss any aspect of this book with you in more detail so let me know in the comments below.

Keep reading.

♥Maya♥

13 thoughts on “Book Review-Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

    1. Thanks! Hahaha ‘banana’ is a term I use a lot in place of any swear words to make me laugh, I couldn’t resists using it this time 😅! I’m relieved I’m not alone at that because I didn’t realise till 7 months later after reading that I’ve been pronouncing it wrong 😭😭😭!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

