Book Review-A Court of Mist and Fury(A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)


Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: May 3rd 2016

Pages: 640 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 10/10 shining glimmering stars!

Synopsis:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Review:

“To the stars who listen—and the dreams that are answered.”

I am proud to say that when I finally found this book in the bookstore, I made a high-pitched squeak, grabbed the book, and shamelessly started mini dancing with the book clutched it tightly to my heart right there, between the shelter of bookshelves.  I thought that I couldn’t love Sarah J. Maas more but A Court of Mist and Fury proved me wrong! What this book did to me is beyond words! I went through all the emotions Sarah intended for us to feel. I was fooled about some characters until their stories were truly revealed and was left awestruck and guilty having judged that character wrongly. Even if you didn’t find A Court of Thorns and Roses that interesting, continue reading A Court of Mist and Fury and it will not disappoint you. I’ve finished the book and now my soul is singing, my heart is aching, and my mind is spinning out of control.

All the characters developed beautifully and now I adore every single one of them. Prythian is more deeply explored and we get to visit more than one new Court! The writing is emphatically descriptive and the words chosen were utterly surreal yet perfectly fitting for that fantastic and magical world! Other than that, the plot was carefully woven together so that things that happened in the first book were connected to things in the second book, showing that Sarah had everything planned from the start! There were loads of exquisite and lovely quotes in this book, I couldn’t keep track of all of them, but I bet Dumbledore would be proud of all the wise quotes!

The plot of A Court of Mist and Fury was different from that of A Court of Thorns and Roses, it’s not solely centred on a love story. It was more focused on Feyre coping with how she changed after Under the Mountain and Feyre finding her place among the Fae.

What I can promise readers is one of the greatest stories about pain, loss, and passion you might ever read! You will never ever be bored reading this book. There’s always something going on, you won’t be able to stop reading in fear of something happening to the characters who you will love deeply. I stayed up all night reading the book and didn’t rest till it was over! I couldn’t stand the thought of parting with my dears! This has undoubtedly become one of my favourite books I’ve read so far this year and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this book to anyone.

(SPOILER ALERT!)

“The Court of Dreams.
The people who knew that there was a price, and one worth paying, for that dream. The bastard- born warriors, the Illyrian half breed, the monster trapped in a beautiful body, the dreamer born into a court of nightmares…And the huntress with an artist’s soul.”

 I love nothing more than fierce iron-willed independent females who can take care of themselves, and Feyre Cursebreaker, Protector of the Rainbow, was all that and more! Her personality becomes darker in this book but that only makes her more entrancing and attractive than before! If you look at how Feyre was at the beginning of the book in the Spring Court and compare it with her at the end of the book, you might wonder whether those were the same person. That’s how much character development Feyre experiences! I found the parts where she was stuck in the Spring Court doing nothing the most boring part of the book and I looked forward to her time with Rhysand (even though I despised him at that time). I was so glad that I didn’t have to endure another stupid love triangle. Both Feyre and Tamlin have changed because of Amarantha and now their souls aren’t as compatible and matching as before so their love was doomed anyways and it didn’t feel like Feyre was being torn choosing between Tamlin and Rhys.

“You are-you are feeling too much, too fast. I cannot read it.”

That is basically what I felt like being inside Feyre’s head, so many emotions and thoughts all scattered around. That’s how people think inside their head, everything chaotic and unsorted.

The only way I might be able to describe my transition of feelings towards Rhys is through GIFs.

I knew Rhysand was going to show up sooner or later no matter how much I hated him and when he did, this was the expression I had on my face:

200.gif

After Rhys insists that Feyre should learn to read and helps her develop her skills, and I realize he might not be so bad, my face resembles something like:

wow.gif

When Rhys resques Feyre from being locked up and onwards, I felt like the whole world was being turned around! I realized that Rhys had buried himself deep in my heart!

200222b.gif

He was the perfect example of the most perfect male ever! He cares so deeply about his people and is prepared to do anything ,even become a monster, for their sake. He has experienced so much pain and suffering in his long life that I don’t even know how he can still dream and hope for a better world. There was so much hidden about him that I just wanted to know everything! He was a gold mine for wonderful quotes. He’s also a freaking feminist! He doesn’t become over-protective of Feyre and lets her make her own decisions. His second and third in command are both females, he tries to encourage girls to learn to fight just like any man! He refuses to see Feyre anything but a High Lady and completely supports her decisions.

I’m making it sound like he didn’t make any mistakes which isn’t true. He did make as many mistakes as the next guy. He promised to keep no secrets from Feyre, which he shouldn’t have, no one could keep such a promise, he’s lived for more than 500 years! He isn’t a complete angel either, he bickers constantly with all his friends and does have a clear as night scary dark side. But he is my PRECIOOOOUS cinnamon roll and I will protect him at all costs!

The rest of the Court of Dreams were all AWESOME as well! Each of them possessed a certain quality that isolated them from the rest. We got to slowly dive into their painful pasts and learn more about them from their sufferings. Mor, Azriel, Cassian, and Amren were all unique in their own way and they’ve all earned places in my heart. Velaris-the city of Starlight-was one of the most breathtaking places I’ve ever read about! When Rhys was preparing to show the Queen the hidden city I  desperately hoped he wouldn’t and when I read about Velaris being attacked: seeing the people run away and scream, watching the river get soaked with blood, the Rainbow being destroyed, was too much and I broke down to tears! I love Velaris as much as I love my own city!

What I didn’t like about the book was the fact that Faeries could lie! This is the only book I’ve read that has Fae that can lie, and it doesn’t feel right.  Not lying is part of what makes Faeries so interesting! Also again, I couldn’t stand the sexual intimate scenes! They were completely unnecessary and way way way too descriptive and left nothing for the imagination! I just couldn’t see the point of writing 5/6 pages worth of sex! That will always be the only thing I hate about Sarah’s writing.

The last couple of chapters had me wide-eyed and terrified for everyone! Everything was happening too fast and I barely comprehended anything. I felt betrayed by Tamlin(who is more of a beast in this book than the first one) and Lucien so badly I wanted them dead! I was grinning like a madman as I realized what Feyre was planning on doing, it made me feel so alive reading intently and hungering for more!

Now that the initial awesomeness of the book is ebbing, I’ve come to the realization that I have to wait a whole year for the next book to come out!

Sorry for writing such a lengthy review, but I had to get all my thoughts and feelings out before my brain exploded! Hope you guys enjoyed it, I’d love to discuss this book with you guys more in the comments section!

Until next time my dear readers.

♥Maya♥

13 thoughts on “Book Review-A Court of Mist and Fury(A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

    1. I didn’t just LOVE it, that’s not even close! There were too many feels sometimes especially towards the end and my brain is yet to return to its original pre-ACOMAF state. Rhys is the role model all males should look up to! I’m dying to read the third book so so much! I wanna know what happens with Feyre and of course her newly changed sisters! I can’t wait 😬😁!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel you. Haha! I rated the first book a sad 3/5 stars but this is a glowing 5 stars for me. It’s so wonderful, characters and the story itself – I wanma give YA a new try! (I don’t like the genre very much)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah! It really is a shining beacon compared to other books I’ve read tha year! You definitely should because there’s so many many great books and I wouldn’t want anyone missing out! If u liked ACOMAF then you should give Sarah’s other series Throne of Glass a try! I’m sure you’ll love it.

      Like

      1. heck, I’d love to read YA because of Sarah! Haha I’ll definitely read Throne of Glass series but not yet, I’ll read first A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwabs. I love that author too! Amazing imagination. Are you finished with that series? Throne of Glass?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeeees! You HAVE to! I’m rereading the series right now because the fifth book Empire of Storms is coming out in 8 days!!
        I haven’t heard of it but the title sounds pretty cool! I’ll look it up on goodreads and hopefully read it soon 😊 thanks for the recommendation!

        Like

  2. Dancing in the bookstore? haha.. and 10 stars! oooh, I can’t wait to read it! I like the sound of the plot being carefully planned and the first book being connected to the second book. I will have to come back to your spoiler area after I have a go of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

