Book Review-The Immortal Rules(Blood of Eden#1)

10215349.jpgAuthor: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Publication Date: April 24th 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia

Pages: 485

Rating: 7/10

Synopsis:

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.

Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for… again.

Enter Julie Kagawa’s dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.

Review:

“You will always be a monster, there is no turning back from it. But what type of monster you become is entirely up to you.”

Another vampire book! The question you would be asking yourself is: Why would I read another clichéd story about our popular bloodsuckers? The answer is: Because The Immortal Rules properly shows those damned bloodsuckers as the evil blood lusting monsters they truly are!(I know, shocking isn’t it?) In addition to that, the characters were all well-written and the plot throughout the book was intriguing. The dystopian world that Julie built was fascinating, if not a little depressing. I am reluctant to put this book in the Fantasy genre because even though the vampires were the main point of the book the other factors of the book favoured the Dystopian genre so I guess it’s a blend of the two.

(WARNING! THIS PART MAY CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS)

Characters:

I loved Allie because she was independent, tough and wasn’t afraid of making hard decisions. She’s not your typical eye-roll inducing whiny damsel in distress waiting for someone to save her butt even when she was human. I LOVE her sword, I judge characters by their choice of weapons and a katana is definitely awesome! Someone give me a katana! Other than being awesome, Allie was also very real especially when she chose to become a vampire and live rather than die. I mean come on! Who would ever choose to die no matter how much they hated the choice? I don’t appreciate the cover of this book at all as it looks nothing like Allie who is Asian.

Zeke was adorable but he broke my heart. He just had so much hope and in their world where there is no more hope it just seemed impossible to be that nice. They live in a world where being nice is a disadvantage and will end up getting you killed so I was definitely attached to him. Oh how much I wanted to murder that bastard Jeb for doing what he did to Zeke!

Kanin was my favourite character in the book because he got me thinking about a lot of deep stuff (which I love doing). He made a terrible decision that ripped the world apart but even after all those years being an immortal monster, that didn’t stop him from feeling guilty. He didn’t give up his soul or turn his back on his people even though they all hated him. Kanin thought what he was doing was for the best but it all went wrong and that happens to everyone every once in a while. I also really liked his relationship with Allie, how he didn’t abandon her after Turning her, how he gave her the decision as to what kind of monster she could be. He had a huge impact on shaping Allie.

Plot:

The introduction was alluring as it described the world they lived in but didn’t go too deep into the confusing details yet. It was neither too slow-paced nor too fast-paced and I felt myself slowly sinking into the story smoothly.

After the introduction the story slowed down too much and I failed to pay attention to all the details until I reached halfway through the book then the story picked up its pace and new characters were introduced and I started adoring characters and properly savouring the plot.

The last part of The Immortal Rules was epic! There was a lot of action and bloodsucking moments that were so vivid and entrancing. I adored the author’s writing when it came to fighting/drinking blood scenes. The ending of the book had me aching to start the second book in the series(which I will be starting soon.)

Overall The Immortal Rules was definitely a gripping book with charming characters and outstanding scenes and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this book to any reader.

Until next time my dear readers ♥

Peace out

Leave a Reply

