Book Review-P.S. I Like You

25486998.jpgAuthor: Kasie West

Publisher: Point

Publication Date: July 26th 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Pages: 304 pages

Rating: 7/10

Synopsis:

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Review:

(SPOILER FREE)

P.S. I Like You was very satisfying to read. It was so great to read without having to worry about my characters dying, I just read and enjoyed the book (who knew one could do that anymore). The title and the book cover might seem weird and cheesy  but don’t be discouraged because the inside is actually better. I haven’t read anything else by Kasie so I can’t compare P.S. I Like You to anything yet but the best word to describe this book is ‘cute’ because it was adorable and will make you feel warm and fuzzy on the inside. The best time to read P.S. I Like You is right after reading a lot of dark intense emotionally wrecking books. That’s what I did and I actually feel much better now.

The characters were all relatable to and they all seemed realistic enough. I can relate to Lily’s obsession with unpopular yet awesome bands. She was fun to read about because she had an interesting personality and an odd choice of clothing. Since pretty much everyone could guess who the secret pen pal was, the times Lily spent obsessing over other guys and whether they could be him were VERY annoying. I always looked forward to the parts involving an exchange in letters. I felt like there were too many coincidences pushing Lily and her mysterious guy together, it could’ve been more hidden. I absolutely loved the lyrics Lily came up with especially the lyrics to “Left Behind” because those were seriously awesome! Lily’s big family was so colorful and loud and I loved how everything was so chaotic and messy all the time. I will definitely remember the family parts of the book  for a long time.

The plot was completely transparent from the start but this book was never meant to be mysterious. I really liked the idea of the book, how two people got to know each other and eventually fall in love without actually seeing the other person. It means that they fell in love with each other’s words not faces and that’s something I never see happening in real life. I realized that P.S. I Like You had almost no swearing at all! I’m not sure why I found that odd but I would’ve expected more cursing in such books.

Overall the book was entertaining and easy to read but I’m probably not going to reread it since there was nothing special about this book within the genre. It was mostly cheery so I will remember this book  with a smile.

Until next time my fellow readers. Keep on reading!

Tata ♥


 

6 thoughts on “Book Review-P.S. I Like You

  1. This review was so helpful! Ive been deciding whether to read it for ages! I don’t like all of her books, but i think I’ll like this one, thank you!

    Like

    1. Congratulations! My first ever commenter! You just won my love and friendship 😄
      I’m glad you enjoyed it. I just found it so oddly relaxing after reading about so much pain and depression so I guess the best time to read this book is after a really tough book. Hope your enjoy it’s cuteness like I did.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love reading a good pick-me-up! I think I read about 5 sad books in a row and I was completely destroyed, then I read a YA contemporary and I was so happy afterwards! Ps, are you part of #bookstagram?

        Like

      2. That’s how you might feel after P.S. I Like You. I’m completely new to the whole blogging thing and I’m still trying to figure everything out so I’m guessing a bookstagram is like books but on Instagram.. I don’t have one yet😬
        I’ll research and then see if I can manage to make one.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You totally should! Its great, it’s how i found out about WordPress, and it mean that because I cant blog on here everyday, I can do a sort of substitute. Plus, everyone is so kind, and supportive there! I don’t think I’ve seen one negative comment since I joined, and that was in December!

    Like

  3. Hmm alright I’ll try creating one soon. That’s great actually! I always hope people comment on what I write because I to see what people like and don’t about my reviews but they almost never do. I hope they do on Instagram though 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

