Book Review-The Sword of Summer( Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard)

25090719.jpgAuthor: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Books

Publication Date: October 6th 2015

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult,

Pages: 499

Rating: 8/10

Goodreads Synopsis:

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Review:

Another Rick Riordan book that had me laughing out loud at one moment then tearing up on the next. I was so excited to read the book because of the name: Magnus Chase! I was being hit by a wave of feels when I read that 2 of my favourite authors were talking! The Sword of Summer introduces us to the Norse gods of Asgard who display a perfect blend of the past and the modern world. The book is written in Rick’s usual writing style, which I treasure because it always feels light and humoured but it somehow manages to contain so many feels. The dialogues throughout the book were entertaining and fun. I honestly worship the chapter titles that Rick comes up with; they’re just ridiculously odd and unforgettable! The characters were diverse and unique and I loved all the characters that Rick created and I would love to read about more of their adventures.

It was a little hard getting through the beginning of the book but afterwards it becomes more captivating and filled with more action making it impossible to get bored. I found some of the side quests unnecessary and tiresome. I really enjoyed the inside jokes found in the book, I like to think that means that all the heroes from previous series get to meet and have epic adventures.

(WARNING! MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD!)

Magnus was a super cool character with his dark sense of humour and sarcasm plus he watched Doctor Who! I thought killing the main character at the beginning of a book was impossible but Rick managed to do it! I do think Persassy and Magnus share some characteristics and their personalities are similar but since this is just the first book in the series Magnus might turn out to have a more different personality. Persassy loved blue while Magnus hated it and I can imagine them having a huge fight about that in the future. I did find Magnus’s character too perfect at several points, he just suddenly became a brave hero and accepted his fate. I LOVED his sword Jack! Now I wish all swords could talk to their owners.

Sam was an interesting character. She was a Valkyrie who worked for Odin but she was also a Muslim girl with strict grandparents. I get super defensive about people who get judged for being someone’s child so the way the Einherji and Valkyrie couldn’t trust Sam just because she was a daughter of Loki made me love her more. In addition to all that, she was brave and kickass. I’m looking forward to read about her in the next books.

Hearthstone was my favourite character. It’s probably because his back-story was so tragic and filled with so much pain. I admire how he wants to pursue his dreams and learn magic even though he could’ve chosen an easier path. I loved the part where Magnus learned about Hearth’s past with the rune Pethro; I admit my eyes got teary reading that part.

Blitzen should be my fashion advisor (I desperately need one in my life). Blitz was a little hard to like at first but as the story continued he starts becoming more real to me. He stands out among his kind because unlike other dwarves he wants to design fashionable clothes. He doesn’t give up and his dream job becomes true. Blitz is proof that people shouldn’t give up no matter how impossible your goals sound.

I loved the extremely odd team that Rick created! I mean a dead guy, a shape-shifting girl, a deaf elf, and a fashionable dwarf! Helheim yes! Who wouldn’t be excited to read about such an extraordinary team?

I’m so glad we got to see a little bit of Annabeth in the book because I have honestly missed her and the rest of the gang. It didn’t even occur to me that Magnus and Annabeth were related when I read the title of the book! Now I really want to read about Magnus and Annabeth trading stories about their crazy advenuters. I’m sure that Annabeth will win the bet against Magnus though, she’s been through way more than him.

The ending of The Sword of Summer was darker than what I would’ve expected from the first book! Nevertheless it was amazing and enjoyable. Now I have to patiently wait for the second book to be released (no biggie!)

Until next time my fellow readers ♥

Leave a Reply

