Book Review-A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

16096824Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication date: May 5th 2015

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Pages: 432

Rating: 9/10

Synopsis:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Review:

From the moment I read the title of this book I knew it was going to be AWESOME SAUCE! A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast but with Faeries and a lot more action and brutal violence. I’m still trying to sort through my thoughts about this book because it was seriously intense at parts. I had high expectations for this book and I must say that I was not dissapointed. What I love most about Sarah J. Maas-who is one of my favourite authors- is her words. The way she describes anything with such beautiful mesmerizing words leaves me teary-eyed and captivated. The descriptions were so painfully intense sometimes I had to pause for a while and just cherish her choice of words. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy retellings, faeries, and action packed love stories.

This book has a map of Prythian! I don’t usually judge a book by its cover but I do judge the book by its map. It looks so aesthetic and I can literally feel the magic radiating from it! I found myself going back to the map of Prythian many times throughout the book and it made the book more real to me.

(WARNING! SPOILERS AHEAD)

The main character, Feyre, is a kickass lady from the start! She’s independent and brave and I enjoyed being in her mind for the whole book. Sure she did some really dumb things sometimes that had me cringing with embarrassment but overall she was fierce and amazing.I always love how Sarah’s characters- who are true warriors- have this other side of them that is reserved for something like painting or playing an instrument, it shows that they don’t only have the capability to kill and destroy but to also create something worthwhile with their passion.

Tamlin was hilariously ridiculous and I appreciated his failed flirting attempts (i.e. “And your hair is… clean.”) I couldn’t see Tamlin as a beast and I would’ve preferred if he had been stuck in wolf form as part of the curse as that would’ve been more accurate for a retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

Lucien was my favourite character in this book, he was sassy and provided very much needed humour plus he is the only character with a semi-normal name. I would love to know more about his tragic past. I think he played an important part in easing Feyre into the Faerie world. His friendship with Tamlin was admirable, he always had Tamlin’s back and supported him in every possible way even under the threat of torture.

Rhysand was my least favourite character in this book. I hated him from Feyre’s very first encounter with him. He had a very unsettling dark personality that still makes me shudder. I didn’t understand why we had so much of him in the last part of the book. He, other than being cruel, was also disgustingly revolting and invasive. Unfortunately by the end of the book we discover that he might have a soul somewhere and that everything he had done was for good reason. I can’t judge him anymore before knowing more about his past and his intensions. I have a feeling we might be seeing more of him in the coming books.

May the Cauldron boil me for saying this but I have a really bad feeling about Rhysand’s relationship with Feyre… I am desperately hoping that my suspicions are false and that we don’t end up with another love triangle.

I am probably one of the only readers who did NOT enjoy the intimate sexual parts of this book. I thought those parts were unnecessarily long and way too descriptive so I ended up skipping parts. I would’ve given this book a higher rating if it weren’t for those sections.

I love how the Fae in their world all believe in a Cauldron, while in other worlds people would typically worship gods. I will definitely be using:”By the Cauldron…” in my life from now on.

I think the tasks that Feyre had to win to break the curse could’ve been more creative and filled with more action . The riddle seemed quite obvious to me after I read it a couple of times and I think Amarantha could’ve tried to find a less transparent riddle.

I was so relieved when Amarantha was finally killed because she was getting on my nerves. Which means a greater villain will appear. I am looking forward to reading the second book in the series: A Court of Mist and Fury. Whenever the bookstore in my city decides to order it, I will immediately buy it!

I loved that a pronunciation guide was added in the back of the book. I found it so helpful because of all the foreign words included in the book. I sincerely hope that more books have this guide because I desperately need them.

Hope you guys enjoyed my lengthy review. Let me know what you thought of this book and I will be glad to discuss any aspect of it with you.

Until next time my fellow readers ❤

16 thoughts on “Book Review-A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

    1. After I’ve changed my rating system from 5 stars as a total to 10 I haven’t given anything a full 10 stars. I stand by my comment about it being awesome sauce but I’ve mentioned in my review one tiny thing that I didn’t appreciate which lost it a star. But other than that you HAVE to read ACOTAR! It’s definitely worth your time.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 😄
      By the Cauldron! I actually finished ACOMAF today! I’m preparing my review for it right now actually and yes I ended up eating my words about some people 😞! Those people that I now love and adore and will endlessly praise in my review!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now I’m stuck feeling like an emotional wreck, rocking back and forth in a dark corner refusing to emerge until the next book of the series comes out! I HATE the waiting but I also LOVE the waiting and if that makes sense then we all must be crazy! Hopefully 😉

        Like

  1. *sighs miserably* Well nobody said the road we walk is an easy one and I chose this road so the only one to blame is I. 😜
    Plus I get to experience so many beautiful things while reading that all the pain and waiting and suffering afterwards is worth it. At least it is in my opinion 😅.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. And every time someone asks me what my favourite book is I just give them a blank stare then unroll my long list of favourite series/books. 😜 That’s what get for asking silky questions. Hahaha it does make sense in a way… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

