Book Review- More Than This

21969786.jpg

Author: Patrick Ness

Publisher: Walker Books

Publication Date: 10 September 2013

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian

Pages: 480 pages

Rating:

Four stars

Synopsis:

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time.

Review:

“Haven’t you ever felt like there has to be more? Like there’s more out there somewhere, just beyond your grasp, if you could only get to it…”

Well look at that! Another Patrick Ness book that completely destroyed me and made me question my existence. More Than This was gold! A mind-blowing suspenseful dark philosophical masterpiece! The writing was so painfully descriptive and intense, I was experiencing all the pain Seth was going through even from the first page. The book is a mixture of the past- where Seth goes through his memories of real life before he dies- and the present- where Seth ends up after dying and what he does there. This book is literally impossible to put down, it killed me whenever I had to close the book and do something else. Every time I thought I finally understood what the banana was going on and where Seth was, a new theory would appear and it would impossibly make more sense than the one before leaving me open-mouthed with awe. More Than This is a blend of teenage high school drama and creepy mysterious dystopian world.
The first part of the book was solely about Seth, you’d think one would get bored but on the contrary I found it completely entrancing. Seth’s life was pretty dark and miserable at parts but it also had surprising sweet moments that I adored.
The book keeps you guessing and lets your imagination run wild. I honestly still do not understand everything about the plot, but I guess that was the point of the book.
I really hated the reason that pushed Seth into committing suicide, it seemed far-fetched and dramatic for no good reason. I might understand how depressed he was but that was NOT the way to solve it.
I admired the way Seth didn’t even hesitate to rescue his friends, how he blamed himself for what happened to Owen, how he still loved Gudmund after what he had done.
The only reason I didn’t give this book a 5 star rating was because of the ending. I generally disagree with all book endings but this one was just impossible! I wish I learned more about what happened to everyone. I thought More Than This should have more than that as an ending.
This book will get you thinking about a lot of things, it will open your mind and make you question reality and the meaning of life. It is a must read for those who enjoy dark books with deep meanings and stunning plot twists.

Let me know what you thought of this book after reading it. I’d love to discuss it with you.

Until next time my fellow readers  ❤


Leave a Reply

