Book Review- Me Before You

15507958.jpg

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Pamela Dorman

Release Date: December 31st 2012

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Rating: 

Four stars

Synopsis:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review:

(Spoiler free)

I found this book very easy to read. It’s one of those books you can read and relax. It was sweet at first but it then turned out to be a heartbreaking story. I am generally NOT a romantic person, I’d usually laugh at any romantic encounters, but while reading Me Before You I found it rather adorable and dare I say not completely boring. The main character Lou was fun and interesting, making her more appealing to read about. She was unique but didn’t have many great ambitions, I found myself relating to that. Will Traynor in my opinion was great but I found him a jerk at many points and would’ve loved to smack him a couple of times. I found Jojo Moyes’s writing style elegant in a simple way, which is why it was easy to read, my brain could easily imagine whatever was being described. I definitely prefer this book over any John Green book I’ve ever had the misfortune of reading. Jojo has a way of making ordinary life seem more filled with possibilities than it should but I found that amazing. I sadly already knew how the story was going to end which I think ruined this book for me. I still don’t understand the moral of the story, I completely disagree with the way things turned out to be in the end. I did learn a lot more about disabilities and how they are viewed and taken into account and how people cope with these things. Me Before You changed the way I think about people, sure it’s a sadder way to regard everyone but it feels more true. I recommend this book for readers who like having the love story be the centre of the story and for those who don’t mind crying in the end.

What did you find interesting in this book? Did you enjoy it? Do you agree with the ending? What do you think does the title mean? I’d love to know what you guys think.


 

Leave a Reply

