Book Review-Lady Midnight(The Dark Artifices #1)

25494343Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry

Release Date: March 8th 2016

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Pages: 698

Rating:

5-star-rating

Synopsis:

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

Review:

SPOILER FREE

This book is one of my favourites among all the Cassandra Clare books. It had every aspect of the perfect book! It was definitely worth my going to the bookstore everyday to see if it finally arrived or not. I absolutely adored the cover, it immediately grabs your attention. The plot was well developed and it keeps you wondering what might happen next so you can’t put the book down. It was hard to not love all the characters in the book! Each character’s personality was explained in depth so it felt like I actually knew them all personally. They seemed more 3D and real to me than I am to myself! It included family drama that had me blinking back tears, it had heart-breaking soul-wrenching romantic moments, and mind-blowing revelations at the end leaving me dumbfounded. I recommend this book to anyone who’s read about Shadowhunters from previous books and wants to read more about them. I disagree with the people who think that this world with Shadowhunters has already been written about so many times, there’s still so much we don’t know and I wouldn’t mind reading more about them. I assure you guys that you won’t ever regret buying such a beautiful masterpiece!

SPOILER ALERT!

(This is the part where I share my thoughts and feelings about characters and plots for those who have already read the book.)

I usually hate books with a prologue, the prologue is always weird and mysterious and I don’t get what’s happening in it. But I get what it all means now and I’m still mind blown.

From the moment I read about Emma I knew that I would love her. She has this funny way of viewing the world that makes me laugh and appreciate her. I like that the first thing she does is break up with a boyfriend who has a picture of a llama on her phone. She’s badass and has snarky remarks for everything so she reminds me of Jace. I love how she treats her sword-Cortana- like its a member of the family that deserves to be loved. She’s also a Carstairs which gives her bonus points.

Julian on the other hand is one of those people who you know will break your heart but still can’t help but care about them. He’s moody, emotional, and cares about his family more than his own life. The way he can weave a lie so skillfully scares me a little and he had to learn to lie to everyone he loved to protect them from the age of 12. Every time someone mentioned something he had done for his siblings and Emma, I’d feel my heart slowly break into tiny pieces. I really really hope he finds a little joy and happiness in his future.

Cristina is also a pretty cool character. I loved her close relationship with Emma.  It’s amazing how she dealt with all the Blackthorn family drama, and helped them in any way she could even though she barely knew them. I ship her with Mark. Perfect Diego was indeed perfect when he appears but I still can’t judge him until I know more.

Mark was a character I didn’t like at first, he wasn’t sure about who he was and that made him unstable but when he decides to stay with his family I start to love him. His relationship with Kieran was surprising, I could NOT have seen that coming. I ship him with Cristina though, they make a good couple. #Martina!

It took me some time to sort through all the younger Blackthorns. There were so many children and all of them had different personalities. I loved Ty the most because he was different from the rest and some people considered him an outsider. I admire the Blackthorn family motto: A bad law is no law.

I couldn’t believe that Malcolm was behind all the murders! That he had killed Emma’s parents as an experiment without giving them a second glance! How he lied to all of them and pretended to like them! I really thought he was cool at first. Doesn’t matter if he did it to save someone he loved, it was just wrong! I hope he’s gone for good now.

I found all the chapter titles weird and will probably not remember any of them later. I am one of those people who don’t like reading about  couples who were once friends and are now in love. It just feels wrong. However Jemma is my new favourite OTP. The ending was very sad because everything was going in the wrong direction. Stupid Emma and Mark! Their plan is hopefully not going to work for long.

The part of the book where I understand the book’s title is always so satisfying! I gasped out loud when I heard Tessa say Kit’s whole name! I am still not recovered from that revelation! That was just wow! We can’t have a book without a Herondale popping out of nowhere! I am looking forward to reading more about Kit and I am prepared to forgive him for the fact that he insulted Jace. I’m glad some characters from previous books appear. They’re all older and more mature now… I’m also glad to hear about Simon and Isabelle’s engagement! The question I kept asking myself from the beginning is why are parabatai not supposed to fall in love. Finally when it was revealed I was still a little confused. Do they slowly turn into evil monsters because they have magic that is powerful? I guess we will find out more next year. I anxiously wait for the next book in the Dark Artifices.

Let me know what you guys thought of this book! I’d love to discuss it more deeply with you guys.


3 thoughts on “Book Review-Lady Midnight(The Dark Artifices #1)

    1. Yesss same! I read and reread all her books and I love the world she builds and continues to expand so much! Although it does cause me loads of emotional pain and major feels! Thanks. I can’t wait for the next book of the dark artifices to be released. 😍

      Like

Leave a Reply

