Book Review-Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

28954137.jpgAuthor: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Format: Ebook, 672 pages

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Rating:

5-star-rating

Goodreads Synopsis:

The New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling collection of short stories chronicling the adventures of Simon Lewis as he trains to become a Shadowhunter is now available in print for the first time with ten brand-new comic illustrations!
Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. The events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. Whomever this new Simon might be.
But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. At least Simon’s trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.
Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. Written by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman, these moving and hilarious short stories are perfect for the fan who just can’t get enough of the Shadowhunters.

Review:

Simon’s story continues as he goes to the Academy in Idris to train and become a Shadowhunter to get his all memories back. These short stories are for readers who have already read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. Some characters from previous series visit the Academy to give Simon and the other students lectures. I definitely recommend Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy to all who enjoyed reading about Shadowhunters.

(SPOILERS AHEAD)

Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy

Four stars.png

In this short story, I found another reason to love Simon: he’s a whovian! (I can’t believe I didn’t know that.) I found all the Shadowhunter students all snobbish and arrogant at the beginning. I liked George Lovelace right after he said:“I say my surname without shame, because I am secure in my masculinity like that.” The rest of this story is about Simon struggling with his real and fake memories, trying to survive classes, and figuring out his complicated relationship with Isabelle.

The Lost Herondale

Four stars

I still don’t completely understand the purpose of this short story. Other than having the students learn about the worst crime Shadowhunter can commit it didn’t even involve the Academy. But I do wonder where the lost Herondales are, they still are Nephilim, one can never have too many Herondales. Who knows, maybe there’s a whole book just about finding them and showing them the Shadow World. I found it cruel how Simon’s first test on the field was to kill a vampire. He was once a vampire and they all knew it, maybe they were testing his loyalty to the Shadowhunters. I liked Catarina in this short story, telling Simon what really happened to Tobias Herondale. I realized that each short story cover was part of one big picture, it’s pretty fitting because Simon is trying to remember who he was before losing his memories and he gets pieces from here and there to arrange them and get the big picture of he was.

The Whitechapel Fiend

5-star-rating

This short story is better than the first two in my opinion because it included characters from The Infernal Devices. I was so glad to see Tessa, Will, Gabriel, Cecily, and Jem again even if it was just for a little bit. I admit I cried a little while reading how Will would find any excuse to summon the Silent Brothers to see Jem again. I never thought about that before, how Will would deal with Jem becoming a Silent Brother.

Nothing but Shadows

5-star-rating

James Herondale loves reading and hates talking to people, I love him already! I could actually relate to his nervousness about making friends and not disappointing his parents. Again I’m glad to know anything about Tessa’s and Will’s life. My heart tears apart everytime  Jem shows up especially after what he said to James:“There are only four points of warmth and brightness, in the whole world, that burn fiercely enough for me to feel something like the person I was. Your mother, your father, Lucie, and you. You love, and tremble, and burn. Do not let any of them tell you who you are. You are the flame that cannot be put out. You are the star that cannot be lost. You are who you have always been, and that is enough and more than enough. Anyone who looks at you and sees darkness is blind.” I wish I got to learn more about what happened to James. Did he become parabatai with Matthew? Was he happy in the end?

The Evil we Love

Four stars

I really love how the story slips to the past and then back to the present so smoothly, I sometimes don’t even notice. I think I understand Robert Lightwood more after reading this short story, I still don’t like him though. Valentine had way too much free time so he could spend his time stalking his followers and exploiting their weaknesses. I was confused by Izzy’s actions at first because why would she want to summon a demon and be that irresponsible but then it turned out to be a test and I was relieved. I think Simon finally begins to understand his relationship with Izzy at the end of the short story.

Pale Kings and Princes

5-star-rating

I laughed so hard reading about Simon’s failed dates with Izzy. He was so humiliated but it was still hilarious! The more I read the more I hate and despise the Clave more than I did before. What they did to Helen was beyond cruel! Forcing her to talk about her father and faerie mother in that manner was terrible! At least she gets some happiness out of it: getting married to Aline while being surrounded by her family. After reading this story I was even more confused about the Fair Folk then I was before, because of the way the Lady Nerissa told the story, that faeries in their nature love with destruction.

Bitter of Tongue

5-star-rating

These titles all seemed strange until I read the stories and then they all made perfect sense. Mark Blackthorns story was very sad. He hadn’t even known that the Clave chose to abandon him after he sent them a warning. Thinking his sister Helen was taking care of his half siblings when she was actually exiled. I was proud of Simon standing up for Downworlders. I knew from that moment that he will do everything in his power to change the way things work in the Clave. I also saw a glimpse of Julian and Emma who were already working hard and taking care of the younger kids. They’ve already been through so much it was good to see the Blackthorn family happy for a while at least. I liked learning about Shadowhunter weddings.

The Fiery Trial

5-star-rating

Word of advice: Do NOT read this short story before going to sleep, because you won’t be able to stop. When I heard that Simon didn’t ask Clary to be his parabatai before he turned nineteen I was so angry! Then the strange things began to happen to Simon and Clary I was so worried I had to find out what was happening. The part where Julian and Emma become parabatai is important for Lady Midnight so I tried to focus on the details. By the end of the story I learn that Simon and Clary will become parabatai which was wonderful news.

Born to Endless Night

5-star-rating

This one is my favourite of all 10 stories. It was so adorable and beautiful that I can’t even! Malec was already beyond cute, now with the baby I’m just dying! I loved how the entire family came to help with the baby and everyone was fighting to hold the baby. I think Robert Lightwood became more relaxed around Magnus now. The warlock baby is lucky to have such a big and loving family I’m sure he will be happy. Seeing how much Alec had changed and how he was helping the Downworlders solve their problems was great, he finally felt comfortable in his own skin. The baby being named Max Lightwood was absolutely perfect! Wonderful ending to the ninth novella.

Angels Twice Descending

5-star-rating

The covers are all revealed! At this point I was wondering what Simon would pick for his Shadowhunter name. I was scared for a moment when I thought Simon was just going to leave his family and not tell them the truth but he changed his mind which was a relief. Simon and George’s friendship was great and I found it fitting that Simon thought of him as a brother. I wish it went differently for George Lovelace. Ave atque vale George Lovelace.  In the end I found Simon Lovelace as a suitable and perfect name for a Shadowhunter. He now has all his memories back! I just wish there could’ve been more. There probably won’t be anything new to read from Simon’s POV again. But reading these short stories was fun and it was fantastic!


 

Leave a Reply

