Book Review-The Hidden Oracle(The Trials of Apollo #1)

26881488.jpgAuthor: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Books

Release Date: May 3rd 2016

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 375

Rating:

5-star-rating

Synopsis:

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour. He meets Meg McCaffrey, a feisty 12-year-old girl, who he is meant to serve. His first task is to protect the final Oracle that was hidden away for a millennia. Meanwhile in Camp Half-Blood, the demigods are facing problems: communications of all kinds have become  difficult and demigods are disappearing.

Review:

(SPOILER FREE)

Since it’s a Rick Riordan book I had high expectations from this book and I was NOT disappointed at all. The Hidden Oracle continues of right after the ending of The Blood of Olypmus, so you should have already read The Heroes of Olympus and Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Rick returned to the writing style of the first series-Percy Jackson and the Olympians, it’s written in the first point of view and I found it more fun and relatable. The Hidden Oracle is written from Apollo’s POV and it’s the first time we read from a god’s POV which I’d guess would be more challenging than writing from a mortal’s POV. It seems like Apollo (Lester) is telling the story to us-the readers-and I enjoy that quite a lot, it gets the readers more involved in the story. It was great to be in Apollo’s head, he was a little whiny at the beginning but afterwards we learn about his past, insecurities, and regrets. I liked Meg from the moment she showed up, but even by the end of the book we know almost nothing about her past. I was more than delighted when I read that Persassy was going to show up again. The thing I love about these kind of books is that we get to see how the heroes from past books are doing even if it’s just getting on with their normal lives. This book has a different sort of villain than before, it’s not as obvious as Gaia or Kronos but they’re definitely more mysterious. Everyone should read this book ASAP!

(WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD)

 I laughed so hard while reading this book, with Apollo’s poetry and sense of humour I don’t think anyone could read a chapter without laughing. I loved how Apollo was so heartbroken over losing his 8-pack abs and having flab and acne. Okay so OMGS! PERSASSY IS GETTING A SISTER!! I can’t think of anything that would be more adorable, I wonder what they’re going to name her. I would read a whole book just about Persassy living with his sister. I love how Rick finally realized that Persassy needs a little rest and normal life, so Persassy starts to worry about his education and taking his SATs and getting into New Rome University, it’s a little sad but HA! He finally suffers like the rest of us readers do with real life. Apollo asking Persassy to stop calling him ‘man’ was such a relief! I’m glad Meg turned out to be a daughter of Demeter, we learned about a different goddess and what powers a demigod had being a daughter of Demeter. Meg and Apollo’s interactions were just AMAZING, they’re a good team. I loved having Apollo with his children, it must have been weird for them to see their father as the same age as them. I was looking forward to reading anything about solangelo, so when Will and Nico were together, I literally jumped up and down! I adored seeing parts of their relationship, my heart melted a little. I loved how the Apollo cabin adopted Nico so he got to sit and hang out with them. I hope there’s more solangelo in the next books. I had hoped Artemis would appear at one point or another to help and also mock her brother Apollo, but alas it didn’t happen, maybe she might show up in the next books. I admire Camp Half-Blood for continuing to create dangerous games, even with demigods disappearing and the games being held in the evil labyrinth. It’s like they’re tempting the Fates to do something disastrous on purpose. Of course something had to go wrong there. I spent the second half of this book trying to figure out Apollo’s tragic love life, with Daphne and Hyacinthus (I have no idea how his name is pronounced). At the beginning of the book I was grateful, no weird cryptic prophecy but nooooo their HAS to be a prophecy for everything apparently. Singing and playing instruments is definitely a new unique way of defense, I loved the parts where Apollo was singing against the giant ants, it shows that there are many ways of offence and defense other than directly fighting monster with swords and blades. Another betrayal! Why was I even surprised? I can’t believe Meg would fool Apollo and endanger demigods! I wish she hadn’t fled that quickly. I was very glad to see Persassy again when the giant statue was attacking Camp Half-Blood, that guy knows how to make an entrance with a peeing hell hound and all. OMGS the ending!!!! CALEO are back! While reading that part I felt like doing cartwheels around the house (I actually can’t do cartwheels). I’m so glad Leo is back and he’s with Calypso and I love them so much together! Hunk Muffin, Calypso and Apollo will be an amazing trio! Can’t wait to read about them next year!

My Favourite Quotes:

“Nothing is more tragic than loving someone to the depths of your soul and knowing they cannot and will not ever love you back.”   ~Apollo

“You hear that, guys? A batch of cookies is depending on me. If you get me killed on the way to camp, I am going to be ticked off .”    ~Persassy Jackson

“She’s a communist!”  ~Damien

“Used to be goddy  Now uptown feeling shoddy  Bah,haiku don’t rhyme”  ~Apollo

“A man of honor never surrenders his ukulele.”   ~Apollo


Leave a Reply

