Book Review- The Blood of Olympus(The Heroes of Olympus #5)

21341039Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Books

Published: October 7th 2014

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 516

Rating:

5-star-rating

Synopsis:

Though the Greek and Roman crew members of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen – all of them – and they’re stronger than ever.

They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood -the blood of Olympus – in order to wake. The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it might be able to stop a war between the two camps. The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east.

The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over…

Review:

Guys, just by looking at the cover we can tell that this book is destined for awesomeness! Since it’s the last book in this series I try to remember as much as I can from each character. The final fight is approaching and Gaia is rising and it’s up to the seven demigods to save the world. The highlight of this book is that we get to read from NICO’S point of view making me bounce up and down with excitement!!! Every time I saw that the chapter title is Nico I’d start grinning like an idiot. I must say it was awesome and hilarious but also dark and heartbreaking! I’m also really glad that there were chapters from Reyna’s point of view, I adored her and Nico together with Coach Hedge. The combination of Persassy and Leo together is absolutely hilarious and fantastic, I wish we could’ve seen more of their sarcasm together. I loved House of Hades more than Blood of Olympus, it had more feels and revelations so I enjoyed reading it more.  I felt like Leo, Jason, and Piper did most of the work in this book while Frank, Hazel, Annabeth and Persassy stayed in the background. I wish I saw more of Frank being kick ass and Hazel using her awesome mist powers. Piper developed so much as a character from the first book ( The Lost Hero), she learned how to defend herself using her wits and charmspeak combined with the use of her dagger and I also liked how she comforted Annabeth- who hasn’t been the same ever since Tartarus. Jason is my least favourite from the Seven, every time a chapter was from his point of view I’d try to read it quickly to reach more interesting characters. Leo had this tragic plan that everyone seemed to know about except his closest friends and I kept wondering what that meant and it was tearing me apart and when I realized what his plan was I confess I cried a little. I think Rick has managed to introduce every Greek and Roman myth to the modern world, I love that and enjoy tormenting normal people by throwing all my new mythological knowledge at them. I seriously hated Octavian’s guts and didn’t miss a chance to curse his existence. I found Gaia’s defeat rather disappointing, I didn’t even know she was defeated and how she was defeated when I was first reading that part, I had to reread it a few times to get how she was defeated and honestly I think she died too easily since everyone made such a fuss about her awakening. I preferred the death of Kronos in the previous series, it was more emotional dramatic and satisfying as a villain’s death. The ending left a lot to the imagination it was very open and unclear as to what might happen next, I usually hate those types of endings because I’ll always wonder what happened, but I still found it adorable.

I recommend this book for every living soul! If you haven’t read this action -packed series yet, run to your nearest bookstore and IMMEDIATELY buy the whole series!

 My Favourite Quotes:

“No one can hate you with more intensity than someone who used to love you.”  ~Hylla

“Catch that last episode of Doctor Who? Oh right. You were trudging through the Pit of Eternal Damnation.”      ~Leo Valdez

“You can’t choose your parentage. But you can choose your legacy.”  ~Jason Grace

“Your voice is your identity.”  ~Nico di Angelo

“I don’t define myself by the boys who may or may not like me.”   ~Reyna Ramirez

“I love you, Wise Girl.”  ~Persassy Jackson

“Getting a second life is one thing. Making it a better life, that’s the trick.”   ~Nico di Anglelo

“A wind that blows aimlessly is no good to anyone.” ~ The South Wind


Leave a Reply

