Book Review-The House of Hades(The Heroes of Olympus #4)

12127810.jpg

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Books

Published: October 8th 2013

Genre: Fantasy/ Young Adult

Format: 597 pages

Rating:

5-star-rating

Synopsis:

The House of Hades picks up right where The Mark of Athena left off. Percy and Annabeth are falling straight into Tartarus while their friends continue their journey on board the Argo II. The 6 demigods( Hazel, Piper, Frank, Leo, Jason and Nico) and Coach Hedge make their way to the House of Hades to close the Doors of Death from the mortal side and stop monsters and giants from coming back to the mortal world. An evil powerful sorceress and a giant are guarding the Doors of Death, Hazel must learn how to manipulate the Mist to beat the sorceress and impress Hecate. Percy and Annabeth must find a way to reach the Doors of Death, get past Gaea’s entire army, close the Doors of Death and somehow manage to escape Tartarus in the process.

Review:

I am left speechless after reading The House of Hades. It’s even better than The Mark of Athena! This is the darkest book from the entire Percy Jackson series. It’s impossible to put the book down for one second, there’s too much happening! I could tell from the amazing cover that this book was going to be intense. Saying that this book will destroy you is the best praise a book can get and this is a book that will definitely DESTROY you. I love how at the beginning of the book Rick writes: “To my wonderful readers: Sorry about that last cliff-hanger. Well, no, not really. HAHAHAHAHA. But, seriously, I love you guys.” Hazel finally plays an important part in the plot, learning to control the mist and understand what it means to be  a child of Pluto. Frank kicks butt in this book and I feel that he became more mature and secure in the role he will play. I love how everyone knows that Jason is the guy that follows the rules but from his own point of view he thinks he rises above the rules and is a rebel. I especially love this book because Nico (my favourite character) is included in the plot, I hated how everyone was uncomfortable around him and no one wanted to be alone with him. I don’t understand what he did wrong! There was a huge turn of events that completely took me by surprise, it was so unexpected I gasped out loud while reading that part. Of course I ended up crying for an hour afterwards. I won’t spoil what is discovered but I’m sure it will break your hearts. Calypso appears again with another hero from the Seven being sent to her island, I loved their arguments and conversations. I also love the way the chapters start:Percy wasn’t dead yet but he was already tired of being a corpse or Frank woke up as a python,which puzzled him.The tone of this book is more serious and darker than before and it shows how the characters are growing and developing and getting ready for what is to come in the end. I don’t think Persassy will ever be the same again after his trip in Tartarus, he suffers so much and learns of the consequences of his actions and what they lead to. Persassy and Annabeth have to depend on each other and focus on the fact that they’re together to stand a chance against the harsh environment of Tartarus. The way Rick displays Tartarus and the creatures in it is brilliant, he somehow manages to make it all seem impossible and depressing but without losing the characters’ personalities. The ending was too much for me:“Bob says hello,”he told the stars. I don’t think anyone will finish reading this book and still be the same person.

My Favourite Quotes:

“Tell the sun and stars hello for me.”   ~Bob the Titan

“But magic is neither good nor evil. It is a tool, like a knife. Is a knife evil? Only if the wielder is evil.”    ~Hecate

“I figure the world is basically a machine. I don’t know who made it, if it was the fates, or the gods, or the capital-G god or whatever. But it chugs along the way it’s supposed to most of the time. Sure, little pieces break and stuff goes haywire once in a while, but mostly… things happen for a reason. Like you and me meeting.”    ~Leo Valdez

“You can’t rush perfection.”  ~Leo Valdez

“Love is no game! It is no flowery softness! It is hard work-a quest that never ends. It demands everything from you-especially the truth. Only then does it yield rewards.”  ~Cupid

Link:

https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=F69E7E12B18A6D23&id=F69E7E12B18A6D23%21229&parId=F69E7E12B18A6D23%21120&action=locate


Leave a Reply

